State Profiles

New Hampshire

When it comes to cannabis, New Hampshire’s motto “Live Free Or Die” falls kinda flat. They’ve had a medical program since 2013, but there’s no home cultivation allowed and they don’t take out-of-state cards. Visiting patients can possess 3⁄4 of an ounce within state borders if they have a valid card, and documentation that they have one of New Hampshire’s qualifying medical conditions (basically, a note from your doctor). Their one compensation is the very high Mt.Washington, topping out at 6,288 feet. It’s got record-breaking wind speeds up there, though, so don’t try for any open flame.




Medical Cannabis has been legal in Vermont since 2004, but the Dispensaries don’t take out-of-state cards. Adult-use has been legal since 2018. Folks are allowed to grow up to two mature and four immature plants, store as much as they like at home, and have up to an ounce about their person. Unfortunately, Vermont doesn’t yet have a commercial market. The legislature almost passed a bill in 2019, but, like many other states, pooped out late in the game. They’re hopeful for 2020. The highest you can get in Vermont is 4,393 feet up Mt.Mansfield.




Medical cannabis has been legal in the Bay State since 2013, and they also had the distinction of being the first in New England to enact adult sales in 2018. You can currently purchase cannabis at dispensaries across the state, and consumption lounges and cafes should be opening up soon. You’re allowed to have up to an ounce on you, and 10 ounces in your home. You can cultivate up to 6 plants, or 12 per household. The highest you can get in Massachusetts is 3,489 feet up Mt. Greylock.





Rhode Island

Rhode Island legalized medical cannabis in 2006, and kindly call their dispensaries (which take out-of-state cards) compassion centers. Adult use was almost legalized in 2019, but, much like Vermont, Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey, their mojo dried up at the last minute. There’s some chance for next year, but they don’t seem to be in a big rush about it. Fortunately, Rhode Island is right next door to Massachusetts. While Rhode Island has some lovely beaches, its highest point, Jerimoth Hill, is a mere 812 feet.




Connecticut decriminalized cannabis in 2011, and has had a medical program in effect since 2012. Residents can’t grow their own, and the dispensaries don’t take out-of- state cards. Like most other New England states, they’ve been talking about a legalization program, and 2019 saw some legislative forward motion, but there wasn’t enough support to go the distance. Fortunately for them, Connecticut is just south of Massachusetts, the only place in New England you can buy legal weed. The highest point in the state is Mt. Frissell at 2,380 feet.




Medical cannabis has been legal in Maine since 1999, and the dispensaries do take out- of-state cards. Adult use (with a commercial market) has been legal since 2016, but the legislature has just gotten around to figuring out the rules for that. Stores should be open within a few months. Individuals 21 years of age or older are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces and cultivate up to three mature plants, 12 immature plants, and unlimited seedlings. The highest you can get in Maine is 5,267 feet up Mt.Katahdin.